HOW THE GOSPEL CHANGED MY LIFE: Has He really forgiven me?

now

I feel ashamed to talk to God, my sin is just too grave, I can’t face God in the reality of what I just did, He is very disappointed in me … these and many nagging and condemning thoughts plagues the heart of many people when they sin. But have you ever heard God’s response to this situation? The Bible says that truth is established in the mouths of two to three witnesses. Let’s examine some scriptures in the light of forgiveness.

I, yes, I alone will blot out your sins for my own sake and WILL NEVER THINK OF THEM AGAIN. Isaiah 43:25 (NLT)

… And I will FORGIVE their wickedness, and I will never again remember their sins. Jeremiah 31:34 (NLT)

… And I will FORGIVE their wickedness, and I will never again remember their sins. Hebrews 8:12 (NLT)

… Then God made you alive in Christ, for He forgave all our sins. He cancelled the record of charges against us and took it away, nailing it to the cross. Colossians 2:13-14 (NLT)

Note that in the above scriptures about forgiveness, the words that follow are: I WILL NEVER REMEMBER THEIR SINS. When God forgives, unlike we humans, HE doesn’t come back to remind us of what we did. Love doesn’t keep record of wrongs.

Then why the condemnation as if God is far and has refused to hear me? Why is the thought so nagging and recurrent? God has done his part, He has forgiven you. Thus, He expects us to walk according to the integrity of His Word and not out feelings. As a matter of fact, HE doesn’t want us the guilt and condemnation in our mind to separate us from Him.

What is so awesome is that 1John 3:20 says that we should come to Him EVEN IF our heart condemns us, God is GREATER than our hearts … i.e His Word, His forgiveness, is greater than our feelings.

Therefore, live like a forgiven child of God. Guilt attacks your identity in Christ Jesus and brings shame. Condemnation drains life and strength. Forgiveness magnifies Love! Enjoy God’s gift of forgiveness and righteousness today!

Shalom.

D.O.| for The Messenger

Author:

I'm just totally crazy about God... I dnt have a choice...lol.

Leave a Reply

