HOW THE GOSPEL CHANGED MY LIFE: Fasting

fasting

Fasting is a very popular practise of every religion. Back in the days and up till now, when the church calls for a fast, we expect that we must remain holy all through and must be perfect in every way, and thus, if you mistakenly get angry at anything, it’s like your fasting has been destroyed for that day – you’ll end up walking in guilt and disappointment for the rest of the day. Actually, you should not engage in worldly

pleasures when you are fasting, but if well, if something goes out of hand, just submit to God and accept His forgiveness and continue with your fast. Don’t be lazy by cancelling the fast.

I have observed that when people claim to fast, they seldom pray or study the word and only ‘round-up’ their fast with the concluding prayers at church in the evenings, to the extent that the fasting now becomes a hunger-strike. Also, people fast to ask God for forgiveness of sins and other stuffs like that.

I have come to learn that we do not fast because we want God to hear us – He is not deaf (1Jn 5:14)! Neither do we have to fast to receive forgiveness of sins – He has freely given this to us (Heb 4:16). I have learnt that we should fast majorly because we want to establish our sphere of influence and increase our territories in the Spirit realm – basically, we fast so that we can gain control of those things which we would normally and physically not be able to gain total control of.

Fasting shouldn’t be done just as a religious practise; it carries so much more power. When we fast, we shouldn’t take it lackadaisically like one of those things our Pastor asks us to do, instead, we should actually take out time to study the Word of God and pray and conquer grounds spiritually. This is one way we as Christians can live victoriously in this evil and perverse world, taking control of situations around us that do not align with our expectations from God.

A Little Boasting for Today:

Jesus loves me and my sins are forgiven me. As I fast, committing myself to God and the kingdom and charting my course in this life, the Lord shall guide me continually and satisfy my soul and restore my strength and I shall be like a watered garden and like a spring of water whose waters fail not. They that shall be of me shall build the old waste places, I shall raise up the foundations of many generations and I shall be called a repairer of the breach, the restorer of paths to dwell in.

Ref: Rom 5:1, Is 58

The Messenger

Author:

I'm just totally crazy about God... I dnt have a choice...lol.

2 thoughts on “HOW THE GOSPEL CHANGED MY LIFE: Fasting

  1. Wow! Dis is really cool, wish I cud just get a doze of stuffs like dis every morning.
    Thanks for dis and God bless u real good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

